Premiere: Grow Shares “Still” From New Bedroom EP

Leeds’ Adam Gilfoyle, also a member of Leeds’ Waterfall, premieres Still from his latest effort Grow: Bedroom EP, a four track bedroom pop release with songs glittering with an airy sense of intimacy, warm melodies, and the fuzzy distancy reminiscing to the dreaminess of Salvia Plath and the fogginess of Teen Suicide’s DC Snuff Film / waste yrself. 

This merging of the incredibly personal and the feeling of distance portrayed is especially relevant in Prelude, a song of whining guitars and dreamy distortion, and With You, a simple song of twinkling acoustics and cool harmonies that seems to drift slower and slower the longer it goes on – as “I know I can be a pain with my need for headspace and constant headaches” is whispered, fuzziness comparable the likes of Karen O merges with the intimacy of the lyrics in a way that draws out the detail from every word.

Still, the first song released from the EP, is a repetitive flow of layered guitars and a heavy tension that rises with the drums, ticking and falling like the rain. The “ooh”s and “ah”s bring together the sentiment found in “I can’t see clear for my cloudy eyes”, a lyric summing up the overall foggy feeling that the EP brings with it. The somewhat comparably raucous noise that ends the song builds like a coming storm.

Bedroom EP is available to pre-order digitally, and from the 1 June is available on a limited run of 25 cassettes on Swirly Records.

 

We also spoke to Adam about his music:

When did you start writing your own music?

I’ve been writing my own music since I was about 15 (5 years ago) but mostly just for various bands I’ve been in, until about a year ago when I decided to start this project and writing songs on my own.

Your EP is very personal, what made you want to release it to the world?

I’m a big fan of personal, emotional lyricism and it’s always a great experience when you find music that you can relate to directly. I also have a tendency of shutting myself off from people a bit (socially and emotionally). So I guess it was a mixture of being able to express my thoughts and feelings vocally, and hoping it can bring other people some kind of comfort if they can relate to them. I find it to be a really cathartic and soothing way for me to get things off my chest. 

How do you find the writing process is different compared to when you are writing with Waterfall?

Since I’m not working with others, there’s not really any contrasting thoughts or exchange of ideas so I have a much more laid back approach to songwriting. With Waterfall we tend to write songs and mess about with little demos before proceeding to solidify the song and record the tracks in the studio. Where as with Grow, I’ll record as I’m writing and often not bother doing too many extra takes. The raw feel of the songs also allows for some minor technical and playing faults that we wouldn’t really desire in Waterfall’s recordings, but seem to add intimacy to these songs.

What do you do when you’re not making music? 

I’m currently studying Music Technology at uni, so a lot of the time when I’m not writing music, I’m recording or engineering it, or listening to it. I’ll occasionally go to a food festival or an art exhibition but I spend a lot of my spare time going to see live bands too, music is pretty much the epicentre of my life. Outside of music, it’s mostly just spending time with family/friends or procrastinating, I’m planning on getting more involved in volunteer work and activism asap soon though because I really want to push for change.

How would you describe the EP to those who have no heard it?

I don’t really know where to start with this one. I’d say it’s a small collection of guitar-based, emotionally driven songs with a melancholic lo-fi indie/dreampop feel to them, along the veins of Infinity Crush, Elvis Depressedly, Teen Suicide etc. I wanted to create an EP that had plenty of separation, clarity and depth in the mix but still maintained that lo-fi edge and some washy tones.

It’s really honest in both performance and content and that’s a big part of why I’m so proud of it.

Olive Richardson

 

 

Leave a Reply

